Archive for the 'The Dark Art' Category

24 Jun

Ten Tips for Writing Horror

Never let it be said that I never “gave back” to the genre. Here are ten tips for fledgling horror writers who want to see their work go far and be appreciated:
Full Story »

15 Jun

Status Report and Current Projects 6/15/08

For the past few weeks there haven’t been any of those “Writing Journal” posts listing what (and how much) I’ve been writing. The reason for that is that I haven’t been writing much of anything. I’ve been on the road for the last four weeks (Stamford, Baton Rouge, Chicago) and even this week will be spent partially in Oak Ridge, TN. This type of bullshit travel schedule isn’t very conducive to writing, and so I haven’t been doing anything beyond the bare-minimum required to keep “Court of the Abominatrix” on schedule: a measly 1500 words a week.

That’s hardly worth making a special blog post about, so I said to hell with that whole thing.

But there are a few things that need to be mentioned and/or explained:
Full Story »

11 May

Writing Journal: 5/11/2008

My writing efforts for the previous week:

Sunday- In Deed – 1100
Monday – In Deed – 900
Tuesday – In Deed – 1000
Wednesday – – 0
Thursday – Court, In Deed – 1100
Friday – Court, In Deed – 1000
Saturday – Court – 500

5600 Total
800 Average

Kinda average, if a bit on the low side. Not complaining though; it’s better than zero.
Full Story »

5 May

The Return of Weekly Updates!

Enough screwing around, it’s time to get serious again. So let it be known that I intend to return to WEEKLY new content… something that hasn’t been done in years.

(Don’t get excited, there’s a pretty big caveat at the end)
Full Story »

4 May

Writing Journal: 5/4/2007

My writing efforts for the previous week:

Sunday: 1700
Monday: 1100
Tuesday 1000
Wednesday: 1000
Thursday: 1000
Friday: 2000
Saturday: 0

Total: 7800
Average: 1114.2
Full Story »

5 Apr

Robbed Yet Again

Apparently the scriptwriters for Doctor Who must be Dark Icon fans; but you’d think they’d at least let me KNOW that they were gonna rip off one of my ideas for their season premier.
Full Story »

20 Mar

Writing Journal: 3/16/2008

Just for laughs, here’s how much work I got done last week:

3/9/2008 Sunday Into Hell 1100
3/10/2008 Monday Into Hell 200
3/11/2008 Tuesday 0
3/12/2008 Wednesday 0
3/13/2008 Thursday 0
3/14/2008 Friday 0
3/15/2008 Saturday 0
1300 Total
185.7 Average

Full Story »

9 Mar

Writing Journal 3/9/2008

My writing efforts for the past week:

3/2/2008 Sunday Into Hell 1200
3/3/2008 Monday Into Hell 700
3/4/2008 Tuesday Into Hell 600
3/5/2008 Wednesday Into Hell 500
3/6/2008 Thursday Into Hell 700
3/7/2008 Friday Into Hell 600
3/8/2008 Saturday Into Hell 1100
5400 Total
771 Average

Full Story »

2 Mar

Writing Journal: 3/2/2008

My writing efforts for the previous week:

2/24/2008 Sunday 0
2/25/2008 Monday Into Hell 1000
2/26/2008 Tuesday Into Hell 1000
2/27/2008 Wednesday Into Hell 1000
2/28/2008 Thursday Into Hell 900
2/29/2008 Friday
3/1/2008 Saturday Into Hell 1000
4900 Total
700 Average

Full Story »

17 Feb

Writing Journal: 2/17/2008

My writing efforts for the previous week:

2/10/2008 Sunday 0
2/11/2008 Monday 0
2/12/2008 Tuesday In Deed 1000
2/13/2008 Wednesday In Deed 500
2/14/2008 Thursday In Deed 500
2/15/2008 Friday 0
2/16/2008 Saturday 0
2000 Total
285 Average

Full Story »